Meet LiveUp DC Program Director Dan

Dan and his participant Phillip

Dan and his participant Phillip

You’ve heard from participant Melissa, now Dan, one of the DC program directors, shares what LiveUp means to him:

Whenever I talk about LiveUp, I cannot help but have a smile on my face. The reason is that it is one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had the pleasure to be apart of.  I volunteered for this program because I knew it was a good cause and it would be fun, but I had no idea the impact it would have on my own life. This program has opened my eyes to the strong, tight knit Down syndrome community that we have in the United States and given me the chance to meet some amazing volunteers, parents, participants, and community members.

These families, who entrust their children with our volunteers, have shown me that you must live life to the fullest and cease every opportunity possible.  The hard work that we put in to the long weekend of LiveUp is nothing compared to what these families do year round. Our program has a lot to be thankful for, including all of the support from our local communities.  With their help, we have been able to expand and offer a variety of activities and programs for our participants. Being a regional director this year, I can say that I am indebted to the kind people that always give without receiving anything in return.  I thank those people, and will continue volunteering with LiveUp because I know that is how I can make a difference in the lives of the participants and families. How can you make a difference?  Donate and help ensure that there are many more years of this amazing program.

Don’t forget to  like us on Facebook for or a chance to win a LiveUp Program necklace or key chain made specially for us by Michelle at http://www.DesignsByMRS.com.  Just click the Giveaway tab to enter! You can also purchase this piece from her etsy shop. Michelle so generously made this piece to help with our fundraising campaign –  30% of the sales will be donated to LiveUp Programs. Added bonus: use the code LIVEUP at checkout  on her etsy shop or  website to receive 10% off  your total order. When you use the code, 30% of the order will go to LiveUp!!

2 thoughts on “Meet LiveUp DC Program Director Dan

Leave a Reply

